Home -> Call & Dates -> Early Research Achievement Track

Early Research Achievement Track

The  goal  of  the  Early  Research  Achievements  (ERA)  Track  is  to  provide  researchers  and practitioners with a forum for presenting great, promising ideas in early stages of research. Ideally, the ICPC ERA Track seeks papers challenging the status quo of program comprehension with new research directions and provocative ideas. The ERA track is the perfect place for a paper that aims to set the agenda for a new line of research and a series of future papers. In principle, this track addresses the same topics of interest as those of the Technical Research Track. ERA submissions are intended to describe a single and well-defined idea at an early stage of investigation. As opposed to regular research papers, ERA papers are not intended to serve as a vehicle for the dissemination of research results. Submissions to the ERA track should describe research in progress. Ideally, ERA authors will combine research topics in new ways, establish connections to other fields outside of classical program comprehension, as well as argue for the importance of program-comprehension research in new areas.

Format and Submission

Submissions should clearly focus on the new, proposed idea or emerging results, their impact on the field at large, and future research directions. An ERA paper is not expected to have a solid and complete evaluation as in the Technical Research Track. Naturally, preliminary results providing initial support for the proposed idea are welcome. Papers submitted to the ERA track must not have been previously accepted for publication or submitted for review to another conference, journal, or book. Submissions  must  be  four-pages  long,  including  all text,  references,  appendices,  and  figures. Submissions must be uploaded electronically in PDF format here. All papers must conform, at time of submission, to the IEEE Formatting Guidelines. Please use either this Word Template or this Latex package (please notice these have been updated on date Jul 29 2014). Make sure that you use US letter page format. Latex users: please  use  \documentclass[conference]{IEEEtran}  (without  option 'compsoc'  or  'compsocconf'). Please, do not use the templates available on the IEEE website, since they are not conform to the ones agreed for ICSE and ICPC.

Review and Evaluation Criteria

ERA  papers  will  be  reviewed  by  at  least  three  members  of  the  ERA  Program  Committee. Submissions  will  be  evaluated  on  the  basis  of  their originality,  importance  of  contribution, soundness,  evaluation  (if  available),  quality  and  consistency  of  presentation,  and  appropriate comparison to related work. Special emphasis will be put on the originality and timeliness of the proposed contribution, and even though an evaluation of the proposed idea is welcome, it is not required.

Publication and Presentation

Upon notification of acceptance, all authors of accepted papers will be asked to complete an IEEE Copyright form and will receive further instructions for preparing their camera-ready versions. At least one author of the paper must register and present the paper at the conference; otherwise the paper will be excluded from both the program and the proceedings. The papers will be presented in a formal setting. More details on the presentations will follow the notifications. All accepted papers will be published in the conference electronic proceedings, which will also be available in the IEEE Digital Library. The best paper in the ERA Track at ICPC 2015 will have the opportunity to be revised  and  extended  for  consideration  in  a  special  issue  of  the Journal  of  Empirical Software Engineering published by Springer.

Important Dates

Paper Submission: February 20th, 2015 February 24th, 2015 (Extended)

Author Notification: March 15th, 2015

Camera Ready: March 30th, 2015

Track Chairs

Gabriele Bavota, Michael Collard

Program Committee

Mario Linares Vasquez

The College of William & Mary, VA, USA

Alexander Chatzigeorgiou

University of Macedonia

Tien Nguyen

Iowa State University

Sebastiano Panichella

University of Sannio

Natalia Dragan

Kent State University

Alexander Serebrenik

Eindhoven University of Technology

Laura Moreno

The University of Texas at Dallas

Emad Shihab

Concordia University

Nikolaos Tsantalis

Concordia University

David Shepherd

ABB, Inc

Bonita Sharif

Youngstown State University

Tim Menzies

CS, NcState

Alberto Bacchelli

Delft University of Technology